Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
These databases provide access to hundreds of encyclopedia articles on specific gods (Thoth, Odin, etc.) and also categories of gods (trickster figures, goddess worship, etc.). These will provide a great starting point for gathering background information and offering potential keywords to be used in your search for academic sources.
This will be a great starting point for gathering background information on the historical context on a god's historical representation. Nearly all results will be from encyclopedia.
World Religions Online
Provides encyclopedia articles and book chapters on topics related to religion and mythology.
Student Resources in Context
Includes encyclopedic articles from the book Myths and Legends of the World
Databases (Academic/Scholarly Sources)
Select "Advanced Search" to perform a search using multiple terms and phrases. Also, to limit your search to academic journals, select "Articles" under "Narrow By"
This database offers texts from academic journals, books, and newspapers. Before you search, limit your search to academic journals by click "Scholarly Journals" above the search bar and "Full Text" below the search bar.
This database includes literary criticism and essays. Begin by searching for "American Gods: A Novel."
After performing a keyword search, look on the left side of your search results and check the box "Only content I have access to." This website contains academic articles and book chapters.
This website provides non-academic articles on topics from Greek, Roman, Norse, Chinese, Celtic, Egyptian, Aztec mythologies. Within articles, you can often find links to the full original text of each myth.
Find the primary source text of many myths by using a keyword search. This online archive also provides scans of secondary source books related to mythology.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Consider reading articles on faith and belief. Also find articles on people, concepts, works, and other topics in philosophy.
TED - Joseph Campbell's Hero's Journey
This short video explains the key events in Joseph Campbell's theory of the mono-myth or "hero's journey."