The Great Gatsby Research: Home

NoodleTools will help you create, organize and store citations; it will also create your works cited page! If you have not yet registered for an account, select register and follow the directions to sign-up. If you have already made an account, just log-in.

Find explanations and citation examples for MLA 8th edition in this excellent resource from Purdue University's Online Writing Lab.

Check out this collection of primary source documents from Encyclopedia Britannica. Please note the date of each document in this collection as not all of them are from the 1920's.

Search for newspaper articles from The Chicago Tribune published during the 1920's in this database. Remember: newspaper articles from the 1920's are primary sources!

Browse the articles related to 1920's life in America, including 277 primary source documents.

Find electronic access to valuable print books, like American Decades 1920's and American Decades Primary Sources 1920's in this collection of ebooks. Keyword searchable and downloadable.

Browse results related to the 1920's in this hand-selected topic page. Results include book chapters, newspaper/magazine/journal articles, primary sources, and images. Consider performing a keyword search in the "search within results" box to narrow results.

Browse this page or related topic pages (@ bottom of page) to find book chapters, magazine/newspaper/journal articles, images, and primary sources.

The collection of news dispatches of the Washington, D.C., Bureau of the Associated Press spans the period 1915-1930 provides an unbroken chronology of world and national events as reported by the news agency.

The George Grantham Bain Collection represents the photographic files of one of America's earliest news picture agencies. The collection richly documents sports events, theater, celebrities, crime, strikes, disasters, political activities including the woman suffrage campaign, conventions and public celebrations. The photographs Bain produced and gathered for distribution through his news service were worldwide in their coverage, but there was a special emphasis on life in New York City. The bulk of the collection dates from the 1900s to the mid-1920s, but scattered images can be found as early as the 1860s and as late as the 1930s.

Contains 2,085 drawings, prints, and paintings related to the art of caricature, cartoon, and illustration, spanning the years 1780 to 1977 and includes works by 521 American and foreign artists and illustrators. Most of the images are cartoons, comic strips, and periodical illustrations drawn by American artists between 1890 and 1970.

Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.

Spalding Base Ball Guides, 1889-1939 comprises a historic selection of Spalding’s Official Base Ball Guide and the Official Indoor Base Ball Guide. The collection reproduces 35 of the guides, which were published by the Spalding Athletic Company in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Spalding’s Official Base Ball Guide was perhaps the premier publication of its day for the game of baseball. It featured editorials from baseball writers on the state of the game, statistics, photographs, and analysis of the previous season for all the Major League teams and for many of the so-called minor leagues across the nation. The 15 Spalding’s Official Base Ball Guides included in this online collection were published between 1889 and 1939.

HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. Search for documents via keyword, or browse collections created by university partners by clicking "collections" in the top menu bar.

Discover 36,492,479 images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States. Keyword searchable with date limiting search capabilities.

This site is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.

Latin provides individual subscriptions to digital New York Times for all students, faculty, and staff. Once you have created your account, you will have unlimited free access to the New York Times archives via the TimesMachine. Browse headlines or search for specific stories via the search box.

This web site is part of the outreach mission of the Harvey Goldberg Center for Excellence in Teaching in the Department of History at The Ohio State University. Here you will find primary sources as well as background and context essays regarding this important era in U.S. history.

Curious about how the media covered women and women's issues in the 1920's? Check out the Good Housekeeping magazine archive provided by Cornell University.