LibGuides: Soviet Leaders Research: Primary Source Research

Soviet Leaders in their own Words:

Primary sources provide researchers with an insider's view of events and people from history. Primary sources may include but are not limited to: letters, manuscripts, diaries, journals, newspapers, maps, speeches, interviews, documents produced by government agencies, and photographs.

Primary Sources in Print

Russian Revolution Of 1917 by Sean N. Kalic; Gates M. Brown
Call Number: eBook -- access book by linking on title link
Publication Date: 2017
Please Note: Not all entries in this book series are primary sources! Please make sure that the document you are viewing fits the description of a primary source provided above. You can also double check with a librarian!
Khrushchev Remembers by Nikita Sergeevich Khrushchev
Call Number: 947.085 KRU
Nikita Khrushchev's own recollections of his career and life in USSR
Against the Grain by Boris Yeltsin
Call Number: 947.085 YEL
An autobiography written by Boris Yeltsin
Gorbachev's Glasnost by Oliver C. Trager (Editor)
Call Number: 947.085 GOR
A collection of newspaper editorials and cartoons on the subject of the Gorbachev government and the General Secretary's style of leadership known as glasnost.

Primary Source Documents

Lenin Documents
Many of these documents need to be translated by Google Chrome.
Speech Delivered at an International Meeting in Berne, February 8, 1916
Transcript of Lenin's 1916 speech.

Stalin's Written Works
These hundreds of documents are organized chronologically. Pay close attention to the titles that appear in bold.
Stalin and the Cold War
Leader of the Soviet Union from 1922 until his death in 1953, this collection contain Stalin's own writings, conversations, and legacy. The documents come mostly from the 1950s, and from Russian archives. Topics discussed include Stalin's economic opinions and his views on the situation in East Germany. The final items discuss Stalin's death and the fate of some of his ministers.
"Economic Problems of Socialism in the USSR"
One of Stalin's last published works in which he discusses the evolution of socialism in the Soviet Union.

Nikita Khrushchev Collection
The collection includes [Khrushchev's] comments on Stalin, the post-Stalin Soviet Union, Yugoslavia, and the 1956 uprisings in Poland and Hungary. The documents also broadly cover his opinions on various states, nations, the Soviet Union, and socialism.
Post-Stalin Succession Documents
Comprised of letters and speech transcripts, these documents mostly come from Russian archives and span 1944 to 1962. Many documents are related to or by Khrushchev, and many deal with the power struggle that arose between him and the "Ruling Troika" of Lavrentii Beria, Georgii Malenkov, and Molotov.
Economic Cold War
Documents ranging from the 1950s to the 1980s, and coming from Russian, Bulgarian, and Romanian archives. Topics broadly covered include issues of economic growth and dearth, requests for aid in light of shortages, and international trade issues.

Brezhnev Documents
Many of these documents will need to be translated by Google Chrome.

Gorbachev Documents
Many of these documents will need to be translated by Google Chrome.

Newspapers & Periodicals

ProQuest Historic Newspapers
Search for newspaper articles from the Chicago Tribune (1849-1996) and other major U.S. newspapers.
Times of London
Search articles from this London newspaper from 1785-2012.
New York Times Archive
This website gives access to NYT articles from 1851-2002. Every Latin student has a NYT subscription attached to their email account. Use the link below to register for an account.
Registering for an NYT account
Note: you MUST use your @lsoc email to register AND to complete enrollment check your email inbox for NYT confirmation message. Click on the link in your confirmation message to validate your email address and claim your Pass.

More Websites with Primary Sources

Library of Congress: Internal Workings of USSR
Browse PRIMARY SOURCES related to domestic topics in USSR from Lenin to Gorbachev
Archive of Soviet Primary Sources
This website organizes PRIMARY SOURCE documents from Soviet history by year and topic. Select a year during the term of your Soviet leader or browse the topics on the main menu.
Euro Docs
This guide to PRIMARY SOURCES from Soviet history is extensive and includes some dead ends. However, documents are arranged by Soviet leader. Some documents will need to be translated by Google.
Soviet & International Primary Sources
This website organizes PRIMARY SOURCE documents by collections and themes. There are plenty of relevant documents here--I suggest browsing the collections.