Secondary Sources - U.S. Social History - 3rd Quarter Essay

Recommended Secondary Sources in Print:

Violence & Labor Movements

Three Strikes: miners, musicians, salesgirls, and the fighting spirit of labor's last century by Howard Zinn
Call Number: 331.8 ZIN
Death in the Haymarket by James Green
Call Number: 977.3 GRE
The Knights of Labor and the Haymarket Riot : the fight for an eight-hour workday by Brexel, Bernadette
Call Number: 977.3 BRE

The Progressive Era

The Progressive Era by Faith Taycop
Call Number: 973.8 JAY
*This title contains secondary source information and primary source documents
The Bully Pulpit by Doris Kearns Goodwin
Call Number: 973.9 GOO
A history of the muckraking press and the first decade of the Progressive era as told through the intense friendship of Theodore Roosevelt and William Howard Taft

Gilded Age: Then and Now?

An Age of Extremes, 1880-1917
Call Number: 973 HIS vol. 8
ISBN: 9780195189018
Unstoppable by Ralph Nader
Call Number: 322 NAD
Losing Our Way: An Intimate Portrait of a Troubled America by Bob Herbert
Call Number: 305.5 HER

Universal Suffrage

Votes for Women! by Winifred Conkling
Call Number: 324.6 CON

What are Secondary Sources?

Secondary sources are written after the fact with the benefit of hindsight. Secondary sources describe, discuss, interpret, comment upon, analyze, evaluate, and process primary sources.*

Examples include:

Articles found in scholarly journals (such as JSTOR)
Magazine and newspaper articles written after the fact
Books (such as standard non-fiction books)
Documentaries & Podcasts
Websites

*This description is based on those provided by the libraries at Ithaca College and Yale University.

Databases with Secondary Source Materials:

American History Online (Facts on File)
Perform a keyword search or select "Browse" in the menu to find secondary source articles and primary source documents.
Encyclopedia Britannica
Find background information on a topic; a great alternative to Wikipedia that can be used in your bibliography
Gale eBooks (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Perform a keyword search or browse the eBook collection (especially American Decades and American Eras) to find secondary source articles and primary source documents.
JSTOR
This database contains scholarly, secondary source materials. Make sure you select "full-text" to guarantee total access to your search results.
U.S. History in Context
Perform a keyword search or select "Browse Topics" and find the following Topic pages for valuable primary & secondary sources: Women's Suffrage; Progressivism & Social Reform; Gilded Age; and Rise of Organized Labor.

Websites with Secondary Source Materials

Digital History - University of Houston
Scroll to the bottom of this page and select the era you are concerned with (e.g. Gilded Age, Progressive Era). Within each era page, you can browse secondary source information as well as primary source documents.
Social Welfare Project - Virginia Commonwealth University
Perform a keyword search or browse articles and documents about topics and individuals associated with social welfare movements.

U.S. Social History - 3rd Quarter Essay: Secondary Sources

Recommended Secondary Sources in Print:

What are Secondary Sources?

Databases with Secondary Source Materials:

Websites with Secondary Source Materials