Home - State of the Nation - Latin American Revolutions - Essay #1

Latin American Revolutions Research Essay #1: State of the Nation

This link will take you to the Google Doc assignment. Some key points are listed here:
* Researching and Learning
Your task is to select one Latin American country that interests you and research it (not Cuba, please!). Your initial research should be focused on collecting general information about the country’s contemporary state. The librarians and I will introduce you to resources that you will find useful for this essay, but the CIA World Factbook, the Council on Foreign Relations, International Crisis Group, and other reputable news sources are good places to start.
* After you have conducted basic research on the country, you should spend time categorizing and synthesizing the information:
What is going well for the country?
What is presenting challenges?
What makes this country unique?
How does this country interact with the region and/or world?

Suggested Databases:

Global Issues in Context
Search for your country's study unit to find book articles, magazine/journal articles and radio/video results on your selected country.
Student Resources in Context
Search for general articles in this database. Results include book articles, magazine/journal articles and radio/video results.
ProQuest Research Library Prep
Search for newspaper, magazine, and journal articles in this in-depth periodicals database.
Modern World History
Find articles and primary sources related to your country.

Websites to Consider:

BBC News
Search coverage of your country from the BBC News.
CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities
Latin American Network Information Center - University of Texas
LANIC's mission is to facilitate access to Internet-based information to, from, or on Latin America. Search by region or by subject.
New York Times World Coverage - The Americas
Browse for articles on your chosen country or use the search bar to execute a keyword search.
Slate
Search Slate, a reputable online news and politics magazine, for coverage of your country.
Vice News
Keyword search this reputable news site and see recent news coverage on your country.
International Crisis Group
Crisis Group aspires to be the preeminent organisation providing independent analysis and advice on how to prevent, resolve or better manage deadly conflict. We combine expert field research, analysis and engagement with policymakers across the world in order to effect change in the crisis situations on which we work. We endeavour to talk to all sides and in doing so to build on our role as a trusted source of field-centred information, fresh perspectives and advice for conflict parties and external actors.
Council on Foreign Relations
The Council on Foreign Relations (CFR) is an independent, nonpartisan membership organization, think tank, and publisher dedicated to being a resource for its members, government officials, business executives, journalists, educators and students, civic and religious leaders, and other interested citizens in order to help them better understand the world and the foreign policy choices facing the United States and other countries. Founded in 1921, CFR takes no institutional positions on matters of policy.

Citation Help

NoodleTools
NoodleTools will help you create, orgganize and store citations; it will also create your works cited page! If you have not yet registered for an account, click on Google to login for the first time with the school Google Suite.

Chicago Turabian Citation Guide
An updated Chicago/Turabian style citation guide
The Latin School - Chicago/Turabian Citation Expectations for Students
Latin provides a subscription to NoodleTools, an online bibliographic manager, for each student. NoodleTools helps build proper Chicago/Turabian style citations for each item you need to cite and will format your final works cited page with proper Chicago/Turabian punctuation and layout.

State of the Nation - Latin American Revolutions - Essay #1: Home

Suggested Databases:

Websites to Consider:

Citation Help