Primary Sources: Databases with Primary Source Materials

Each of the ebooks in this series represents a decade from the twentieth century (1900-1999). Each volume is organized by theme and each document has an introduction that helps to set the context.

Explore the history of the U.S. through historical accounts, documents, speeches, memoirs, and more in this database. Earliest documents date back to exploration and conclude with the inauguration of Barak Obama in 2009.

This database connects user with a wide collection of regional 19th century newspapers. Consider limiting search by date range to improve results.

This database provides access to Chicago Tribune articles from 1849-1994. Consider using the advanced search feature to help limit results.

Get full-text facsimile access to The Times archive from 1785-2012. The archive supports research across multiple disciplines and areas of interest, including business, humanities, political science, philosophy, and numerous other subjects with coverage of all major international historical events. Advanced search allows for searches to be limited by date, section, or document type.

This digital archive provides access to a wide variety of documents-personal narratives, pamphlets, addresses, political speeches, monographs, sermons, plays, songs, poetic and fictional works published between the 17th and late 19th centuries.

The American Revolution digital collection contains nearly 500 significant documents of the time--official correspondence, personal letters, collected writings of key figures, political speeches, memoirs and narratives of soldiers and civilians, histories, biographies, contemporary reference works, and other kinds of documents.

The Civil War digital collection contains nearly 500 significant documents of the time--personal narratives, monographs, regimental histories, collected essays, sermons, songs, legal tracts, and political speeches.

To locate available primary source material, scroll to the bottom right side of the homepage. In addition to the recommended documents listed by title, look below for more documents organized by topic.

In "Featured Primary Sources" box at the top of homepage, click on "view all" to be linked to the +400 primary sources included in this product.

In the "Featured Primary Sources" box on the homepage, click on "view all" located on the upper right side of the box to be connected with +500 available primary source documents.

In the "Featured Primary Sources" box on the homepage, click on "view all" located on the upper right side of the box to be connected with +9000 available primary source documents. Users can filter searches further via the menu on the right by subject or era.

In the "Featured Primary Sources" box on the homepage, click on "view all" located on the upper right side of the box to be connected with +100 available primary source documents. Users can filter searches further by era via the menu on the right.

In the "Featured Primary Sources" box on the homepage, click on "view all" located on the upper right side of the box to be connected with +600 available primary source documents. Users can filter searches further by region or era via the menu on the right.

Select "primary sources" from the "Browse Resources" box on the upper right side of the homepage, to be connected with +100 available primary source documents. Users can filter searches further by desired religion via the menu on the right.

In addition to searching for primary sources via a keyword search, you can find available primary sources on a topic by looking through the database's "Browse Topics" page. After selecting desired topic, look for "primary sources" in the "On This Page" menu at the top right of each topic page.