Sources - ENG 10 - Kafka and Philosophy - LibGuides at Latin School of Chicago

Research Steps:

Step 1: Background Research

Use Encyclopedia Britannica or any reference/encyclopedia article to read about your movement. Familiarize yourself with buzz words and persons associated with your movement. These will become potential keywords in Step 2.

Step 2: Research

Use keywords you've found in your Background Research and any of the sources on this Libguide to find information for your assignment

Tip: Google searching

If you decide to use Google, do not use sources that have crowd-sourced information (e.g. Wikipedia, Wiktionary, etc.). Also, be sure the author and website of your source is reputable and an authority on the topic by googling the person's name and/or reading about the website on Wikipedia (remember lateral searching?!) in another tab.

Step 3: Annotated Bibliography

See the annotated bibliography box below for help in writing and formatting your annotated bibliography in NoodleTools.

History of the Surrealist Movement by Gérard Durozoi
Call Number: 709.04 DUR
Freud for Beginners by Richard Osborne
Call Number: 150.19 OSB
Ten Theories of Human Nature by Leslie Stevenson; David L. Haberman
Call Number: 128 STE
Existentialism for Beginners by David Cogswell; Joe Lee (Illustrator)
Call Number: 142 COG
Marx for Beginners
ISBN: 9780375714610
Publication Date: 335.4 RIU
The Absurd by Arnold P. Hinchliffe
Call Number: 142 HIN

JSTOR
JSTOR is a digital library containing digitized back issues of academic journals, books and other primary sources as well as current issues of journals in the humanities and social sciences. It provides full-text searches of almost 2,000 journals. SEARCH TIPS: use the "Advanced Search" page and use 2 or more keywords/phrases boxes to help narrow your results.
ProQuest Research Library Prep
Research Library Prep is an extensive online collection provides one-stop access to nearly 5000 scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. SEARCH TIP: use the "Advanced Search" page to create a search that includes 2 or more keywords/phrases to help narrow your results.
Student Resources in Context
Consider revisiting this database and targeting the Academic Journals, Critical Essays, or Magazines results for your topic.
Surrealism - Essays from the Metropolitan Museum of Art
Read the essays and/or browse the art included in this resource from the Metropolitan Museum of Art.

Step 1: Background Research

Print Books
Databases & Websites

The Philosophy Book
Call Number: 100 PHI
Philosophy 101 by Paul Kleinman
Call Number: 100 KLE
A Brief History of Western Philosophy by Anthony Kenny
Call Number: 190.22 KEN
The Oxford History of Western Philosophy by Anthony Kenny (Editor)
Call Number: 190 OXF

Gale eBooks
Perform a keyword search or target The Encyclopedia of Religion. This collection is most helpful for existentialism, Freudianism, and Marxism.

The Philosophy Book - Existentialism
In order to cite this book scan, use information included on the cover and title page.
The Philosophy Book - Marxism
In order to cite this book scan, use information included on the cover and title page.

Encyclopedia Britannica
Find general information on your topic by doing a keyword search. This is a great alternative to Wikipedia that can be cited as a credible source (unlike Wikipedia).
Student Resources in Context
In your search results, pay close attention to results listed as "Reference" Specifically, look for "The New Dictionary of the History of Ideas".
Modern World History
This database includes reference articles, biographical articles, and primary sources. Groups studying surrealism or expressionism should definitely check out this database.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
This online encyclopedia will include extensive articles on Existentialism, Marxism, and Freud.
Google Arts & Culture Collection
Explore various art movements such as Surrealism and Expressionism using this website. This is a good source for finding visual representations of a movement.
History of Philosophy Summarized & Visualized
See the connections between philosophers and their ideas in this interactive visualization.

Step 3 - Creating an Annotated Bibliography

Each citation in your bibliography needs to be annotated. Annotations can be added to a citation in NoodleTools by selecting "Edit" from the "Options" dropdown menu to the right of the citation. Scroll down to the bottom of the citation form to find the "Annotation" box. Type your annotation directly into this box and it will be added to your final annotated bibliography. Remember to always click save!

What do I need to include in my annotations?

Annotations should be 8-10 sentences long. An annotation should include at least two sentences that address each of the following:

Summarize: In your own words, what did you take notes on? What main topics are covered in the source as a whole?
Analyze: What was useful about this source? How does this source compare to other sources you’ve found? What is the goal of this source?
Reflect: How has this source impacted how you think about your topic?

ENG 10 - Kafka and Philosophy: Sources

Research Steps:

Step 2: Research

Step 1: Background Research

Step 3 - Creating an Annotated Bibliography