DHS - Mini Research Project: Home

JSTOR is an academic journal database that provides full text articles from over 2,000 journals. Research Tip: use the "Advanced" search option to link multiple keywords or phrases to help target results.

ProQuest Research Library Prep is an extensive online collection provides one-stop access to nearly 5000 scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. Research Tip: use the "Advance Search" page and/or the "Scholarly Journals" tab to help narrow results. Also try out clicking the "Peer Reviewed" box. This is a big database, play around with these options to find what works best for your specific needs.

NoodleTools will help you create, organize and store citations; it will also create your works cited page! If you have not yet registered for an account, select register and follow the directions to sign-up. If you have already made an account, just log-in.

Find explanations and citation examples for MLA 8th edition in this excellent resource from Purdue University's Online Writing Lab.

This database features over 400 newspaper titles sourced from 18 U.S libraries and archives -- the goal of this database is to have titles from every U.S. state and territory. Search Tip: click the "Advanced Search" link (under the search box) to create searches that include more than one keyword or phrase. Alternatively, you can also try to browse by topic under the "Browse" option and look alphabetically for topics with potential.

Search and browse the NYT archive (1851-2002) at this website. For full access, you need to be signed into your NYT account. If you have not created an NYT account, please head to the US Library's RomanNet page, find the link next to NYT under Newspapers/Magazines on the left. Follow instructions completely to insure enrollment.

Search this Chicago Defender archive for articles from 1905-1975 from a newspaper focused on Black life and politics in Chicago.

Search this archive for articles from the Chicago Tribune from (1848-1998).

full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century news coverage.

Search this collection of eBooks -- note not everything in this collection is a primary source, but many titles including American Decades Primary Sources, American Eras Primary Sources, the Defining Documents in American History series, and the Documents Decoded series provide full-text primary source documents.

This database provides access to thousands of primary source documents across many subjects. Search Tip: browse by topic or author (if known).